• Announcements

• WhiteWolf

Donation Info   11/12/2017

If we can make it thru to the end of March we will be good till then PayPal thechopperunderground@cox.net Thanks WhiteWolf
jmann8686

My first xs650 and first build

38 posts in this topic

Well after many years of wanting to build my own bike I finally was able to get a project bike. It is a 1979 XS650. It needs a lot of work and I need to do a lot of research and reading. I have never worked on a Yamaha before so this will be a learning experience from the word go.

My plans are to go through the motor and get it rebuilt. I have a second motor that is seized but I want to see if I can get it running as well. I have not looked at it to see how bad things are. I want to hard tail the frame. I want to do a 2" drop seat hardtail. I want it as barebones as I can go. Nothing special nothing too fancy. It is a budget build with no time frame. So I will asking questions here and posting progress pics as I go along.

Here it is as it sits right now
5242e2698b866c25834bd8f806f2897b.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Edited by jmann8686

thay are alot of fun! simple to work on. great parts source is 650 central.

The mags are cool. I've got a set for mine but never put them on.

ive built kawasaki and hondas and yamahas but my favorite is yamaha xs650 I just love those things Ive owned like 10 of em I have 2 now that I plan on keeping

So finally got to work on the bike. Got the motor pulled out and found out that I will be replacing the head on it due to some exhaust bolt issues that I have found after pulling the motor. On one side the bolt is broke off and as you can see the exhaust flange is broken. I have a spare motor that I will be swapping parts with it.

Posted Image

So for the time being I started working on the frame. I was going to hard tail it but I decided to do a swing arm chop and do a brat style build with it. So today I cut some

Unwanted stock brackets off.

Posted Image