• Announcements

• WhiteWolf

Moving Site   11/22/2017

If you want to keep this site up I need your help total cost to move this site to Godaddy will be $300.00 this will also include 2 years hosting then the total a year is less than $100.00 verses $937.00 a year come on guys to keep this site going whats it worth to you Carr has transferred the Domain name to me so it will be our site I can swing $100.00 a year can you swing helping with the transfer cost? if not I will close this site at the end of dec But we need to act by the end of this month 8 days to raise $300.00 Your call but don't come bitching to me cause we are shutting down Paypal  thechopperunderground@cox.net WhiteWolf
Tanshanomi

How do you know if your welding skills are good enough?

10 posts in this topic

As a hobbyist welder, I have either avoided doing any structural welding on my bikes, or when I have, I've designed the joint to have a secondary mechanical attachment to prevent a catastrophic failure if the weld is substandard. So, what training is necessary to be a reliably satisfactory welder, how does one get it, and how do you know when you're achieved a responsible level of expertise to tackle major stuff like building a frame? There's got to be something appropriate between going back to trade school for a welding certification, and just watching YouTube videos and trying to teach yourself.

Edited by Tanshanomi

Lots of practice. Lots of Destructible testing. 

Honestly, I became a Journeyman welder just so I could build and certify my own frames. Trucks, Hot Rods, Bikes, etc. 

Before that I could weld but knew I shouldn't be building stuff that could injure or kill others. Let alone myself.

Honestly, I became a Journeyman welder just so I could build and certify my own frames. Trucks, Hot Rods, Bikes, etc. 

Before that I could weld but knew I shouldn't be building stuff that could injure or kill others. Let alone myself.

Union apprenticeship or trade school?